Huff & Puff Puff Pass On The Left

A friend with weed is a friend indeed. A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away, that wasn’t just a cheeky stoner quip, it was The Code Sustanivo – a way of life. And that’s the last time 2 oz. mattered so much to me.

Knowledge of the metric system came in handy when I started to skate.

Dude…I scored some new frames from a friend of mine this week, and they’re heavy, man. Actually, just a little heavier than I’m used to, but the difference is very noticable. I’ve gone from a 3×100, 1×90 set up to straight 4×100. Add up the extra 2 + oz. per skate from the new frame & larger wheel and the higher deck height and it’s changed everything. Or so it seems. Granted I’m still recovering from a bruised rib, but Dude, 100 laps at speed on Sunday and again last night was, like, gnarley. Oh wow man, talk about a lung-buster… 

I’ve always skated 4×100 outdoors, since I started skating, and that set-up is heavier than this new one. The extra weight isn’t a big deal outdoors. But for the last 7 months I’ve been on the modified set-up indoors, and it’s lower and lighter. Skating low, fast & to the left is a lot different than straight-away skating, and weight really matters indoors. Or so I’ve come to learn. This new set-up, while it feels good, also feels like a small stride backward in terms of speed on the indoor track. It’s really the first time I’ve noticed the effect of skate weight on form and performance. As my legs started to burn, I had to fight lazy recovery, and almost tripped a couple of times which was scary. It’s a good thing it’s early in the winter training season, it’ll give me time to build my strength to get my foot speed back to where it was a few weeks ago. I like this new set-up, and think I’ll do well with it once I get back to speed. I’ll have to work for it though, with the zeal and humorless fanaticism of a jihadi on a suicide mission. I’ll be puffin’ in the pace line man. And that’s OK, cause it’s better than sitting on the sideline with my bong and my bud, watching life pass me by. On the left, Dude. 

12/4/09 Training: Back on skates but took it slowly. Did about 50 laps at 1/2 speed. Was good to be sweating for fitness, not from sloth again! 

12/5/09 Training: Full practice on the new set-up was difficult. Keeping up with 12 & 13 year old elites was pure torture. I think we did 100 laps, but that could have been anywhere from 10 to 20 laps short. I was just glad it was over. Also did full plyo set, lap the pack 2x and right/left drill. Rib felt OK after. 

12/6/09 Training: 45 minutes on the elliptical for 5 miles at level 7. Had some reading to do. Will get back to level 9 later this week. 

12/7/09 Training: Indoor practice, 100 laps at speed. Getting easier but I’ve got some work ahead of me. So does Speedy Weezy, his times for 100m were not what they were mid-summer. But who’s are? At least it bothers him and he wants to beat his personal best record!

5 responses to “Huff & Puff Puff Pass On The Left

  1. I am about to switch to 110’s for the first time. I am interested to see just how much difference they offer. Will be hard to tell on a small 75 meter track.

  2. Good luck. My son took a hit to footspeed with the 3 x 110’s, so we went back to 3 x 100 set up. I’m going to try 4 x 110 outdoors as soon as the weather improves, but that’s going to be a while. Old Farmer’s Almanac is calling for a bad winter here in CO!

  3. It looks like you are a real professional. Did you study about the issue? hehe

  4. Wow! Sounds like we have a pro on our hands, but be careful out there!

  5. My prescription needs a “reef-fill”.

Leave a Reply

