10/19/09 – Slyderblades

Took the day off today. The weather looked like it was going to hold out, but it hasn’t. And the opportunity to spend some quality time with Horsey Pants has me bailing on indoor too. Uh oh – I’m already getting into vacation mode, and it’s still a week away. But hey – that said – vacation is only a week away! By this time next week I’ll be in FL. Today I got a referral for a good skate trail in the town we’ll be in from Barbie Bont. Note to self: need to start de-funk-i-fying my skates to be packed for the trip! In their own vacuum sealed bag. Because that reminds me…

This year, we left Duluth the evening of the race. We hung out at the DECC till about 1 then drove down to Saint Paul for the flight back to CO. My skates were so ripe, you couldn’t pick them up without a slick, smelly little residue being left on your fingers. NASTY!

I never have to worry about theft leaving this in the lockerroom with my skates and EZ Fits in it.

I never have to worry about theft leaving this in the locker room with my skates and EZ Fits in it.

Anyway – I packed them in a Sherpa ventilated bag, and carried them on the plane. With all of the other stuff going on, no one really noticed the smell. I stuffed the bag in the overhead (a few rows ahead of me – heh, heh) and sat down. A guy, musta weighed 350, got onboard with a freshy-fresh case of White Castle slyders and tucked them in right next to my bag in the overhead, stuffed his bag in there too and closed it up.

Ever driven through Staten Island NY in August? Rendering plants also smell similar.

Ever driven through Staten Island NY in August? Rendering plants also smell similar.

Imagine…30 steaming hot sliders marinating in the skate-funk of 26.2 marathon miles for an hour and a half in a pressurized cabin. You should have seen his face when he opened the overhead upon touchdown in DIA.

You want fries with dat?

Bookmark and Share

One response to “10/19/09 – Slyderblades

  1. that is sick…

    i don’t know which is worse though….the white castles contaminating your skates, or your skates contaminating the white castles. i think i feel bad for your skates 🙂

Leave a Reply

