Why am I blogging?

I’m given to wordiness. You could say I’m verbose (and redundant!) in person. I’ve always known it, but I was watching a video that a friend and team mate shot of the Speed Weasels at the finish line area in Duluth and, my God, I was just blah, blah, blah motor-mouthing for what seemed like an eternity. It was painful to watch, probably harder to listen to, and I’m sure it was all about the race. I just love to talk about inline skating. So why not blog about it?

And have fun with it too. Cause that’s what it’s all about for me. Let’s face it, there’s no Pot’O’Gold (or even a box of Lucky Charms) at the end of the inline rainbow, unless you’re Joey or plan on going to ice (then on to Ice Capades!) So I’m just going to talk about my experience and poke fun at myself when I start taking this skating thing too seriously. Because at the end of the day, win or lose, it is what it is. When I skate, if I’m on the trail, in my neighborhood, at the rink or on the race course, I’m putting out my level best attempt for that moment. I just want to be an athlete who gives it his all. (This after years of, well, not.)

I’ll never start in the back of the pack, and always skate my heart out. Cause that’s me and what I like to do. So what that I’ve missed 1st Overall in the open division in 2007 in Saint Paul, and again here in 2009 in Duluth. (I placed first loser in both instances due to chip timing. Start first, finish first, place second.) I’m not that bitter – really (BS). The truth is, I love skating, and I believe in skating my best, every time. If that lands me 2nd, or 7th or 459th I don’t care. I always want to feel good about my skate. Cause when it stops being fun, I’ll stop doing it.

In the morning, I’ll be heading out to a strip of road that’s been freshly paved. I’ll post pics – virgin black top. And it’s mine, all mine!

Leave a Reply

